I Sing In the Choir

IrishPolitician

I ended up having a very good time last night with Irish Politician. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least!

I took the metro there even though I had not heard from him yet. I was also getting texts from MarineGator so I figured I would hop over to his house if IrishPolitician bailed or something. Haha. I may not like to plan, but I like to be prepared – hence the back-up. He did end up calling me though right when I got onto the metro. There was no use in lying where I was so I said I was on the metro. On the way to see him. I told him I had other people to see if it didn’t work out with him. At any rate he apologized and I let it got. I’m keeping this one lite and fun! And that is just what the night was – lite and fun.

We went to the Hamilton which is actually where MrFourthofJuly took me on our infamous third date and we saw a jazz band. Let’s just stop for a moment and think how far I’ve come in the dating world in only a couple of months. Whew, okay, moving on. Ha. I originally just ordered water since I got to the bar first and because I didn’t know if we were staying there since he had mentioned that we were going to meet up with some of his friends. Which I didn’t like by the way. How are you going to take me to a place with your friends on the first date? That just isn’t supposed to happen. I thought at that moment…is this even a date?

Introductions

There was a live 3-person band with string instruments that I adored, of course, and kept me entertained until IrishPolitician arrived. I looked down at my phone while I was waiting for him so I wouldn’t make eye contact with him at the door. I don’t know if I remembered what he looked like! Haha. It ended up working out and I knew it was him when he said my name and I looked up to see a cute man with an afro on. He wasn’t joking when he texted me that he’d be wearing that! I thought we weren’t going to be wearing costumes! Oh sheesh. I like that he could have a sense of humor though. And he didn’t keep it on all night. The second thing I noticed about him were his Romney/Ryan stickers on his jacket. Haha oh geez. I secretly think he is here during this year to do security stuff for the military or something since it is an election year. I know, I’m thinking about it too much.

So we stayed and had a few drinks. The bar tender was an older man and he kept calling us by our names. It made it more interesting. We got appetizers and chatted small talk for a while. We talked about what we did in high school – sports, activities, school, family – I ended up mentioning that I sang in the choir, was a debutante, and couldn’t go to my prom because I had one sip of alcohol on the choir trip and got into trouble. He died laughing and for the rest of the night it was a running joke about me singing in the choir and being the one goody-two-shoes that got in trouble for it.

I learned his age from me talking about the one and only time I had been to Indiana (he graduate for Notre Dame in Indiana) – for the Final Four when Mason played UF. He guessed it was my senior year and I said junior. I told him how old I was and he said I was a youngin. I asked him how old he is and he made it into a joke at first saying he was 48 years old and I knew he was lying. He kept that up for a while which I thought was cute. He eventually told me his real age (well at least I think, ha) and it is quite a bit older than me. I have never dated anyone that old before. I’m not quite sure how I feel about it at this point. He is very good looking but I always feel men get better looking as they get older! Haha.

More Comfortable

We then went to the W hotel in DC. It was beautiful! We originally were not supposed to walk into the rooftop room to see the views because the host said there was a private party that was about to start (I mean it was Halloween night so they were planning for a costume party). We went to the inside bar and then IrishPolitician insisted we go outside and we actually walked right in with no problem. There wasn’t anyone else in there really. This was the first time I had been at the W and I can’t even tell you how amazing the views were. We sat on the couch and chatted some more.

He is Catholic and is in the navy. His job is driving submarines and he said you do that for 3 years in a row (6-month deployments) and then have a year off. He was in Hawaii for 8 years. He is currently on his year off, moved to DC, and is working for the Republican party so it is kind of like his vacation. He said he’d be here until next July. Then what does that mean? I didn’t want to ask too many questions. Obviously I was trying to keep it really lite. Especially since I don’t know much about him. After all I didn’t meet him online. I can’t help but think that maybe he is married or separated with kids or something that just didn’t come with him to DC. Oh geez. Ha.

Halloween Party

Then we met with some of his friends at a bar where there was a Halloween party. Of course I wasn’t dressed up but I still played it off! We showed our IDs and for some reason we got in for free without paying for cover. The bouncer asked who we were there for and I thought maybe we had to be on a list or something. I don’t know, it was kind of weird. Then IrishPolitician said we must’ve got in for free because he was with such a beautiful redhead and that’s only when I thought something was weird. Oh well.

I met some of his friends and they were fun. I mean I was mostly intrigued by all the Halloween costumes and drunk people dancing around. We were not drunk so it made it all the more entertaining. We only stayed for about a half hour and I said I had to hop back on the metro since it closes at midnight. It was about 11:15 at this point and he decided he was going to leave his friends and walk me to the metro.

Full Circle

So IrishPolitician insisted that we get one more drink. I said that’d be okay and I’d to do that. We looked for another place nearby but we ended up back at the Hamilton! I thought it was the cutest thing! If we end up seeing each other more it would be funny if that place becomes ‘our place.’ You know me, I like the cheesiness of that possibility. Haha. The bar tender immediately said hey to us using our names. We looked at each other and smiled. At this point I can’t even remember what we talked about. Some jokes about him singing in the choir and us just enjoying each other’s company. We actually talked about politics a little bit and he mentioned something about gay marriage. I didn’t say anything because as a republican I wanted to know his stance. He actually started talking about one of his buddies in the navy that was gay and he thought he should have the same rights as any other straight person. Then I mentioned someone close to me that was gay and how I supports gay rights. I had mentioned this person before but didn’t say he was gay and he was like, yea I figured based on the things you told me earlier. Then I said..oh well then is that why you just told me you support gay rights? He said no actually and almost seemed offended that I would think that. Whoops. I guess I always just think that every man has homophobia. Ha. I am always too quick to judge.

Goodbye

The time was 11:40 and I still hadn’t finished my beer. I started to down it and he laughed and said he didn’t want me to rush. He will pay for my cab ride home. I really didn’t want him to do that but it was very nice on his part. We ended up staying at the bar only until about 12:15 because we both had work in the morning and walked to a cab.

Normally on my previous dates if I felt they were going really well I would link arms with the suitor while we were walking or show some other kind of affection. This time, I didn’t want to do any of that all night. I wanted to keep it lighter than usual. Believe me, there many chances walking from place to place when I wanted to link arms with him since it was cold and he had his hands in his pockets. There even other times when I would take my hands out of my pockets and then he would take his out. And there other times when I would have my hands in my pockets and he would quickly make a joke and put his arm around me for a second. I know, I’m analyzing our body language, but that’s what I do! Haha. Just making the point that there was tension and we both knew it would’ve been nice to be closer to each other.

Finally on our last trek to find a cab home he put his arm around me and I responded by putting my arm around his waist. He slid arm down and took my hand. Not in the interlocking fingers way. That only last for a second until he took our hands into his other hand, so my arm was in front of his chest like hugging my arm, and started placing each finger in between his. I don’t know. I liked it. Sweet. Then we walked the rest of the way like that.

We got to a set of cab drivers waiting for people to take home. IrishPolitician got out his wallet and I was kind of awkward about taking the money which  made me fumble and open the door to the cab. I also feel it wasn’t a proper goodbye because of how uncomfortable I was about the situation. We ended up giving each other two hugs. Haha. I don’t know if he was trying to kiss me at all or not, but I guess in a way it’s kind of a good thing I left him hanging a little bit.

 Goodnight

He told me to call or text him when I got home. I arrived at the metro, got in my car and started driving. I ended up getting stuck in traffic because the highway goes down to one lane at night for construction. I texted him about it and he immediately called me. I didn’t answer because I had my music up pretty loud and didn’t know he was calling. When I realized he called I was surprised. I didn’t listen to his message. I just called him back. We ended up chatting for the whole 15 minutes until I was home. He just wanted to make sure I got home safely. Hmm. I liked that he called and not just texted. I guess it’s a generational difference? Hahahahaha. Omg.

I then listened to his message. He said he had a really good time with me and wanted to make sure I got home okay. I really liked the message.

The end. I like him, I think. He said he’d call me next week when he gets back from his little brother’s wedding this weekend. I don’t know, we’ll see!

Serendipitous Love

About Finding Serendipitous Love

I'm just a girl on a quest of Finding Serendipitous Love. Sounds funny doesn't it? How can you find something that is supposed to be an accident? Well through online dating of course! This is my story about serendipitous fortunes and hardships that will come with my online dating experiences. Perhaps you will fall in love with these online suitors along with me and relate to the feelings I have along the way. Wish me luck! And I wish you luck on your online dating adventures! I mean we all try it once don't we?
This entry was posted in IrishPolitician. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment